MARTHA JUNGWIRTH: RECENT PAINTINGS @ THADDAEUS ROPAC PARIS 4 SEPTEMBER 2021- 12 OCTOBER 2021

sunday fall
2 min readJun 8, 2022

--

Martha Jungwirth, 2022
Martha Jungwirth, 2022

Martha Jungwirth was born in Vienna in 1940. Talking about her painting and drawing, Jungwirth says, “my art is like a diary, seismographic. That is the method of my work. I am completely related to myself.”

The show at Thaddeus Ropac featured paintings made during the pandemic by the artist. Walking through the gallery, Jungwirth’s figures resembled horses or flowed into abstraction. I really liked the magenta in the new, monumental, oil drawings on paper.

When speaking about the new paintings, the artist says, “I was confronted with my own self during the pandemic, because I was completely isolated. I don’t live from reality, I live from art. The vitality of life, the sensations, all that was missing — the impressions from the outside world, from other art and artists. These interactions are very important for my work.”

I read today that during WW2 60 million people died. Covid-19 killed 4 million people globally.

Thaddaeus Ropac

7 Rue Debelleyme

75003 Paris, France

--

--

sunday fall

Location: Bronx, NY / Occupation: Author?Artist /Website: twitter.com/sundayfall / About me: Fall has written and designed three novels and eight poetry books.